great weather presents spoken word sundays NYC

by Jane on July 18, 2013

May 21, 2017 @ 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm
The Parkside Lounge
317 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002
$2 donation appreciated. Two drink minimum (any drink incl. non-alcoholic, coffee is available)
David Lawton

Featuring Angel Nafis and Trace Peterson, plus spotlight reader Mary Mackey

Hosted by Aimee Herman

Angel NafisAngel Nafis is an Ann Arbor, Michigan native and the author of BlackGirl Mansion (Red Beard Press/ New School Poetics, 2012). She earned her BA at Hunter College and is an MFA candidate in poetry at Warren Wilson College. Her work has appeared in The BreakBeat Poets Anthology,, The Rumpus, Poetry magazine, and elsewhereNafis is a Cave Canem fellow, the recipient of a Millay Colony residency, an Urban Word NYC mentor, and the founder and curator of the Greenlight Bookstore Poetry Salon. In 2011 she represented the LouderArts poetry project at both the Women of the World Poetry Slam and the National Poetry Slam. With poet Morgan Parker, she runs The Other Black Girl Collective, an internationally touring Black Feminist poetry duo. Nafis was a recipient of the 2016 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowship from the Poetry Foundation and a 2017 National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship. Facilitating writing workshops and reading poems globally, she lives in Brooklyn.

Trace PetersonTrace Peterson is the author of Since I Moved In(Chax Press, 2007), winner of the Gil Ott Award, as well as numerous chapbooks. Known for her efforts to increase transgender representation in poetry, Peterson is also the editor and publisher of the journal EOAGH and coeditor of the anthologyTroubling the Line: Trans and Genderqueer Poetry and Poetics (Nightboat Books, 2013), which was nominated for a Lambda Literary Award in 2014. A member of the Board of Directors of VIDA: Women in Literary Arts, Peterson is currently pursuing a PhD at CUNY Graduate Center and teaches at Hunter College, where she has designed a pioneering course in transgender poetry.

Mary Mackey 2Mary Mackey is the author of 14 novels and 7 collections of poetry including Sugar Zone, winner of the 2012 PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Award and Travelers With No Ticket Home (Marsh Hawk Press 2014). Her poems have been praised by Wendell Berry, Jane Hirshfield, Dennis Nurkse, Ron Hansen, Dennis Schmitz, and Marge Piercy for their beauty, precision, originality, and extraordinary range. Four times Garrison Keillor has featured her poetry on The Writer’s Almanac. Her novels have made The New York Times and San Francisco Chronicle bestseller lists and been translated into twelve languages. At, you can sample her work and read her interview series. You can also follow her on Twitter @MMackeyAuthor

Plus open mic, 21+

Previous post:

Next post: